Skilled Legal Representation For the People of Philadelphia & Beyond SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION

I Have a Commercial Driver's License and Just Got a DUI... What am I Facing?

July 5, 2021

In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, DUI’s can be a very life-changing and serious offense. This is especially true for individuals who have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). In Pennsylvania, CDL license holders are held to a much higher standard when it comes to operating their vehicles while on public roadways. As a result of this, when a CDL license holder is charged with a DUI, the penalties are much harsher than someone who has been charged with a DUI and standard driver’s license. At The Town Law, we often get many questions regarding the penalties for a DUI while possessing a commercial driver’s license.

What Are the Penalties for a CDL Driver who gets a DUI?

If you possess a Commercial Driver’s License and are found guilty of a 1st DUI you will be sentenced to:

  • At least 48 hours to 6 months incarceration.

  • $500 to $5,000 in fines.

  • Regular driver's license suspension of 12 months,

  • CDL suspension of 12 months;

  • CDL suspension of 3 years if HazMat involved.

(For more information on CDL license suspension visit the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Website)

** In the event you are found guilty of a second offense DUI, you will PERMANENTLY lose your CDL license.

It is important to note that, If a CDL holder is convicted for a second DUI, he or she will be banned for life from operating with a commercial driver’s license in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

** If an individual refuses a blood test on their first DUI, he/she will lose their CDL and regular license for 12 months. On a second DUI offense, a refusal will result in a permanent CDL license suspension.

(For more information on CDL license suspension visit the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Website)

Will ARD prevent me from losing my CDL license?

NO. This is a common misconception many CDL license holders fall into when they are facing their first DUI. If an attorney advises a CDL license holder that they will not lose their CDL license for a year if they complete their ARD program, the defendant would be well-advised to seek other counsel immediately.

What Should I Do If I Have a DUI and I am a CDL driver?

At The Town Law, we understand just how stressful facing criminal charges can be. With our vast experience handling DUI defense cases throughout Bucks County, Delaware County, Chester County, Montgomery County, and Philadelphia County in Pennsylvania, we are well-equipped to ensure you get the best result possible with attentive attorneys by your side throughout the process. Contact our firm today for a free consultation. Our staff of experienced attorneys is dedicated to the best outcomes for all of our clients.